Holmes         Humphreys       Yazoo

‚Äč21st Judicial District Circuit Court

About Us

Circuit Courts hear felony criminal prosecutions and civil lawsuits.  Circuit Courts hear appeals from County, Justice and Municipal courts and from administrative boards and commissions, such as the workers' compensation Commission and the Mississippi Department of Employment Security.  There are 22 Circuit Court districts and 53 Circuit Court judges.  The number of Circuit Judges per district ranges from one to four.  Circuit Court Judges are selected in non-partisan elections to serve four-year terms.  Trials are heard with a 12-member jury and usually one or two alternate jurors.  A judge may preside without a jury if the dispute is a question of law rather than fact. 

The 21st Judicial District Court in Mississippi encompasses a three county jurisdiction of Holmes, Humphreys, and Yazoo Counties in the State of Mississippi.  The district lies in the MS Delta extending from the northern point of Holmes county and extending south to the southernmost point of Yazoo County.  According to the most recent data from the U.S. Census Bureau, the district had a total of 78.2 persons per square mile and land area of 2,098 square miles (U.S. Census Bureau, 2010).  The latest population estimates for the districts totaled 55,233 (U.S. Census Bureau, 2010).